How to be a great Brand!!

Three Keys to Great Brands: Consistency, Consistency, Consistency

 
Kenneth C. Bator, MBA   BTC Small Business
Ken Bator

Ken Bator

 

 

 

 

 

Travelling around the country, I like to keep some of my same routines.  One of them is my morning coffee.  It’s a comfort to know my venti coffee at Starbucks will taste the same in Chicago as it does in Los Angeles or New York or Dothan, AL.   That venti is almost always delivered with the same level of service.  The same is true with my McDoubles at McDonald’s and my six-inch turkey sandwich on wheat at Subway.  Although I’m eating more of the latter after my last cholesterol test.
What makes these brands and many others great?  One word:
Consistency
Consistency in Product – Whether your business is a single shop or has multiple locations, customers expect to receive the same level of quality regardless of how many transactions they do with your company – much like my venti coffee.
Consistency in Service – Customers expect to receive the same level of service at all of your locations.  Discipline in reinforcing service standards plays a big role here.  For example, Subway has a service standard that the customer is to be greeted within seconds of entering the store.
Consistency in Experience – Every interaction with the customer should be the same, or at least very similar.  Every trip to McDonald’s should be fast, inexpensive, and tasty.  The transaction that a customer is allowed to do at the Citibank branch in Long Beach should also be acceptable at the Citibank branch in Anaheim.  A call to Zappos should be a similar experience on Friday when I speak to Sally as it was on Tuesday when I was speaking with John.
Consistency in product, service, and experience – the last aspect probably being the most important – is what creates customer and brand loyalty.  Not every business achieves a high degree of loyalty because it takes great discipline, throughout every level of the organization, to reach the standards of consistency that are necessary.  Sounds similar to the discipline I am going to need to lower my cholesterol.  Goodbye McDoubles.  You were my favorite.

About thebradwayblog

I am the founder and principal partner of Bradway Partners, a Philadelphia-area business development firm. As principal partner, I am responsible for overseeing the day-to-day operations of the company, seeking new clients, and maintaining relationships with existing clients. I am equipped with over ten years of experience in the sales and marketing industry. Prior to founding Bradway Partners, I worked with leading companies in the medical and retail field. For nearly a decade, I have been helping companies grow their businesses, achieving considerable success even as the economy tumbled. During my time with various companies, I noticed a trend: Slow business wasn’t always necessarily a result of the economy but was often due to insufficient business development. Recognizing an opportunity, I decided to open my own business development firm. As founder and principal partner of Bradway Partners, I work with a wide range of clients to generate sales leads, design marketing plans, and conduct recruiting seminars. By outsourcing these tasks to Bradway Partners, companies are able to focus on their core business and client base. I earned a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration from University of Phoenix, and work tirelessly to stay current with the latest marketing trends and strategies, including social media platforms. My passion and drive has helped Bradway Partners achieve success in a short period of time, and I expect the firm to grow even further as more companies recognize the value of outsourcing business development

Posted on July 12, 2013, in BradwayBlogDaily and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment